Home > Computers and Internet, Hardware > HP Thin Client T5550 with 2x 3.5 SATA disk/Freenas7 as NAS

HP Thin Client T5550 with 2x 3.5 SATA disk/Freenas7 as NAS

T5550 with 2x 3.5 Hard drive.

Now I’m using Freenas7 and HP thinclient T5550, I’ll upgrade it to T510 when I got the new one as the new model have more powerful CPU. (2x core).

  1. kim
    February 5, 2013 at 8:36 PM

    you didnt leave any details or steps how you did it.it would be greatfull,thanks

  2. Marco
    February 7, 2013 at 1:17 AM

    How did you manage to connect two HDs? My HP t5570 (slightly different model) does not allow connecting more than one SATA-HD – only 2.5″ ones – and my second SATA-Port does not include any kind of “Pinout-Connectors”!
    Thanks für reply, Marco

  3. Hn
    July 2, 2013 at 4:24 AM

    How did you power the hard drives?
    Does the internal sata power connector provide enough power for a 3.5″ drive?

    • August 5, 2013 at 7:35 AM

      I think so. Sometimes it may not response. What i only to do is to reboot.

  4. ironhalik
    August 22, 2013 at 11:15 PM

    Hello Neo Wong,

    Have you tried adding two SATA drives (with the soldering hack), and using the IDE DOM? I just received my T5550 and linux reports the second ATA interface as ‘dummy’. I’m wondering if I can use it with two sata drives and one IDE DOM.

    Also, are the SATA drives real sata, or bridged from PATA to SATA in some way? The controller supports two sata channels, but HP could have added some bridge to use the DOM.

    • August 30, 2013 at 10:01 AM

      Dear Ironhalik,

      I’m sorry that I don’t have time to do the test. I connected two SATA drive to it to make it as a NAS, I didn’t connect another 44pin flash drive at the same time. I can’t tell you whether it will work.
      I don’t know whether the sata drive are real work as sata drive, but I think they are. as you can see from the specifications, vx900 support 2x sata, And the 44pin IDE is from a bridge chip JMD330, I think it’s been convert the pata from the sata which have no socket. They may can not work at the same time.

      Storage and Peripheral Interface

      2 SATA 2.0 interface
      Support SD/MMC/MS/MS pro memory card interface
      Supports PCI-Express one 4-lane and three 1-lane ports
      Supports eight USB 2.0 ports
      Supports PCI and LPC buses
      Supports SDIO and SPI
      Supports four UART ports

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

